Being awarded the child support that you and your child need and deserve can be complex at times, especially if the other parent is intentionally trying to make the situation difficult. If you find yourself in this position, it’s always a good idea to contact an experienced lawyer. To schedule an initial consultation with Moffett Law Firm, call our office at (713) 333-5800 or contact us online.
Child Support Laws
An important piece of receiving the child support that you deserve – or making sure that you aren’t paying more child support than is required – is to know and understand the law. An attorney can certainly help you with this, but you are always going to be one of your own best advocates. Some of the most common questions regarding child support in Texas include the following:
How Is Child Support Calculated in Texas?
Under Texas law, the court must follow certain guidelines when determining how much child support to award. The judge can deviate from the guidelines, but they do set a minimum amount that must be awarded. When a judge awards child support in an amount that is within the guidelines, that amount is presumed to be reasonable and in the best interest of the child.
The guidelines are based on the income of the person who must pay child support. There are two standards for calculating child support: If the person paying child support has a net monthly income (NMI) less than $7,500 and if they’re NMI exceeds $7,500.
For those earning less than $7,500, the typical amount awarded for one child is 20 percent of their net monthly income. If support must be paid for two children, it is 25 percent of their NMI For each additional child up to six, the payment is increased by 5 percent of NMI. If support must be paid for six children, the payment must be at least 40 percent of the NMI.
For those making more than $7,500, the support is calculated the same as above for the first $7,500. If the parent requesting child support can prove that the child has additional needs warranting more child support, the court can award more.
When Does Child Support End?
In Texas, child support may be paid until the child is 18 or graduates from high school, whichever is later, the child is emancipated through marriage, the child no longer has disabilities, or the child passes away.
Can Child Support be Modified?
In some circumstances, yes. For a modification in child support to be ordered, the parent filing for the modification must show that there has been a material and substantial change in circumstances. This might include one of the parents losing a job, relocating, or a change in the custody agreement.
Child Support can be Ordered Retroactively
In the state of Texas, it is possible for a court to order a parent to pay child support retroactively in some circumstances. To determine how much retroactive child support should be paid, the judge must look at the income of the parent at the relevant time-period, not what their NMI is at the time the retroactive support is ordered.
Contact Moffett Law Firm Today
If you need help with child support, whether you’re the one receiving support or the one required to pay, Moffett Law Firm can assist you. Our attorneys have been handling these types of cases for almost 20 years. When you hire us, you’re hiring a firm who cares about your case as much as you do. To schedule an initial consultation, call our office at (713) 333-5800 or contact us online.